Smoke Detector Sanity

One of the smoke detectors in the house began to emit that familiar chip of needing its battery replaced. I climbed up onto a step stool and replaced the battery hoping that I had solved the problem. After all, if there is a problem, I try to solve it. Well, the thing keeps chirping even after I have replaced the battery with a fresh new one. My thought now is that the error code needs to be reset but I don’t know how to do this.

Most things around the house that need maintenance, or my attention, I keep notes but this one is a new task for me. I find myself in tears at the prospect of not being able to get this problem under control. Fortunately, there is no way to silence this chirp which is a good thing but unfortunately, my sister, is the beneficiary of most of the noise. She’s ready to kill me because I even changed the battery.

I could wax philosophically about this situation but I wonder what would happen if I had not been here to help trouble-shoot this thing. I need to stop playing with my head and get this under control. This is why I have a maintenance person at my home in the Midwest.

Leave a Reply

