Myers-Briggs Follows Me

My medical school required that we spend some time undergoing Myer-Briggs testing during our orientation when I entered medical school too many years ago to remember much about the test other than it was my idea of time out of my life that I couldn’t get back. The result was ENFP- Extroverted-E, iNtuitive-N, Feeling-F and Perceiving-P after reading the description, I could see that I had some of these characteristics. The result was nothing insightful or meaningful for me. I just wanted to get to the business of learning medicine and not taking personality tests.

A description from the MyersBriggs.org website describes me as “ENFP -Warmly enthusiastic and imaginative. See life as full of possibilities. Make connections between events and information very quickly, and confidently proceed based on the patterns they see. Want a lot of affirmation from others, and readily give appreciation and support. Spontaneous and flexible, often rely on their ability to improvise and their verbal fluency.”

At times, all of these things fit and at times, none of them fit but my medical school collected data from several classes over the years  and matched them with the specialties that we entered. Fast forward to today, and my clinical department asked us to take the Myer-Briggs test. Well, my result was the same- ENFP! I can’t escape it.

As I sit here in the rain, after being drowned like rat this morning, I thought about these personality inventories. Yes, I get plenty of energy from active involvement in events (surgical cases mostly) and having a lot of activities. I love to energize my students and colleagues, the ones that are most fun for me are the ones with loads of energy and ideas but most of all, I stay out of my head these days except on my morning run. This morning, my head was swimming, still laughing and still trying to escape the ordinary.

 

 

Leave a Reply

