Heroic Matters

” I  need a hero. I’m holding out for a hero ’til the morning light.
He’s gotta be sure
And it’s gotta be soon

And he’s gotta be larger than life! ” –Dean Pitchford/ Jim Steinman

I had to give a presentation to a somewhat hostile audience this morning. I armed myself with the usual humor which worked. Mostly, I remembered that my message is a good one though it may have fallen on the ears of those who don’t care or can’t understand it. My partner delivered a great introduction, we were to the point and on point for a change. My realization is that I am comfortable with my role as a professor, unquestioning in my passion for making sure that my expertise and experience is delivered to those with less knowledge and experience.

What I am even more sure of is that my role in these matters is unfinished. I will not leave my part in the middle of this run. I will not back down from the ground that I have sought to conquer and I will not allow those who do not have my experience in medicine and teaching to make decisions that will not benefit my patients and my students. In these matters I share these feelings with my very gifted colleagues who teach.

I also realize that it’s a bit of a mistake to call oneself an “educator” if you do not teach. I stand with my back to the “blackboard/whiteboard” and see those faces on a regular basis. I also know the faces those who are attempting to venture out into the world of being an educated person. I will not allow administrators to devalue what I do and what my colleagues are able to do.

Life has allowed me to witness some of the most brilliant and gifted professors that walk this earth. They are so rare and so fine that I am humbled to even include myself among them. I also know that when I find those with the gifts that I have witnessed, it has become a bit of my role to make sure that my brilliant colleagues continue to make their magic. They are truly my heroes these days. I couldn’t ask for more and I am infinitely grateful for their wise counsel.

Leave a Reply

