Found!!!

Well, it’s been a long couple of days but I found that material object that I lost. Someone turned in my sentimental object and I have been amazingly happy since then. I have renewed faith in the goodness of some of my fellow humans. I am thankful and grateful that I have my object back with me because it has been with me for 30 years. I know it’s stupid but I have so many memories connected with this object which is why it was with me when I lost it. Now, I am reminded to keep my mind on one thing at a time.

I texted a friend when I was reunited with my material object. I had been a bit depressed because of my stupidity but my heart is joyful and I wanted to share that joy. My resolution now is to share good things when they happen for me. I was very glad to share this with him. I just feel happy when I think of the person who helped me concerning this object. Not many things to be happy about these days but this is one of them.

Today we had our beginning of the semester faculty “stuff”. Not my fave but one of those necessary evils of the academic life. Even today, I have been joyful because I am watching some new colleagues blossom in their roles. I am seeing the goodness and graciousness in their work. In short, it’s good for me to see teaching through the eyes of those with less experience in that they have a perspective that I need to hear and experience.

I watched a master professor teach a month or so back. Just watching him engage with his students gave me great insight into how special teaching can be for both student and professor. I modeled some of his techniques on my recent trip overseas; enjoying the interactions with my students from a different culture. I have learned so much from my master professor friend and I appreciate that he generously shared his teaching style with me. Not enough of us do this with our colleagues but when we do, it’s pure joy!

So yes, I am found. There is much to be thankful for in my world today. I am grateful and thankful for my professor friend as he always puts a smile on my face- love the way he breathes air these days- and that there are some genuinely wonderful people on this earth. As I head out for an evening run, I can’t stop smiling.

Leave a Reply

