Life in the month of February

“I hear Jerusalem bells a-ringing
Roman cavalry choirs are singing
Be my mirror, my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field
For some reason I can’t explain
I know St Peter won’t call my name
Never an honest word
But that was when I ruled the world”- Coldplay

I was running in the darkness of the early evening; just after the sun had set on a gloriously warm but windy day. The smell of rain in the air; my brain going in a million directions but starting to focus on the changing weather and all of the glorious nature around me. The birds had roosted on the bare branches of the trees. There is something comforting about warm weather but bare trees in this mid-winter season.

Suddenly, I was aware of the sound of thunder in the distance. Looking across the great lake, I could see bolts of lightening approaching me. I looked down and saw my shadow clearly in the darkness of the running path; a bit of misty rain, warm against my face; the fragrance of a freshwater lake. I kept running; embracing what would come. Getting soaked to the skin; shirt sticking to my body, I found tears of gratitude streaming down my face.

I follow my glad heart blindly these days! I am grateful for every breath, every challenge and every muscle and rib that has become defined on my rapidly changing body. My spiritual challenge is to pull back and not connect so deeply but I am compelled to connect with all around me. Every stone, every texture of my asphalt path is in contact me as the miles go beneath my feet. It’s going to take some time this time but I am will not break; I will bend and I will connect with great joy.

3 thoughts on “Life in the month of February

Leave a Reply

