Pushing along, one step at a time

“He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.“- Isaiah 40:29 (NIV)

I am struggling a bit physically in that I have completed two very long runs and started to have muscle cramps for the last mile of each run. Each time, I pushed through the pain and forced myself to relax my legs in order to relieve the pain. My mental resolve has never been stronger but physically, I haven’t made the strides that I would like to see at this point.

Still, I push myself along, one step at a time. I am considering cutting back to faster and shorter runs but I love the long time for meditation and prayer that the 6-plus mile runs give me. My mind is at peace and my recovery seems to be on a wonderful track but the leg cramps are a bit worrisome.

I move closer to the anniversary date of Gene’s death and I am more at peace than ever. I firmly believe, as my “touchstone” pointed out, that everything is going to be all right. I trust in this; pray for this and I pray for serenity and peace. I am thankful and infinitely grateful for every step forward that I can take. I am thankful for each breath that I take.

If I can bring comfort and peace to others who suffer or are troubled this time of year, then I am very grateful to just be present. I have been so fortunate to have the gifts of a wonderful family and friends that I love so very much. My heart is glad and I want to share that peace.

Leave a Reply

