Yes, Absolute Magic

“O LORD, you are my God; I will exalt you and praise your name, for in perfect faithfulness you have done marvelous things, things planned long ago.” Isaiah 25:1

The day was warm and sunny. I fired up the Cessna to log some hours in the sky alone with my thoughts. I meditate and pray and I flew above the flat fields now empty as November is upon us. I flew my little plane high and low; turning to watch the partially leafless trees below; engine reassuringly humming and responsive.

The magic of taking wing on a beautiful day with clouds around me and nothing beneath me; unlimited visibility. the magic of being one with my plane as I flew above God’s wonderful creation of this world. I can leave the earth, touch the sky and come back again. I rolled and turned just enjoying the scenery and the wonder of the earth below. My heart is grateful and full.

I landed at a small airport about 150 miles from where I took off; to top off my fuel. I had not used this airport before but as I refueled and walked across the concrete runway for a quick drink, I looked at a couple of people who were watching me with great wonder. I must admit that sometimes when I drop out of the sky, I do get more than a few passing glances.

A woman of color, climbing out of an airplane, refueling and walking in to purchase a Diet Coke. I was wearing my Ray Ban shades, my silver hair piled on top of my head; my bright red lipstick; my blue jeans and Virginia Medicine shirt. Yes, they watched me with a bit of amazement as I smiled and wished them a great day. I breathed in a deep breath, thanked God for allowing me to be alive; climbed back into my little plane to dance above the earth. Yes, this is the one dance that I can do.

Leave a Reply

