William on Lake Erie

“For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died. And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.
So from now on we regard no one from a worldly point of view. Though we once regarded Christ in this way, we do so no longer. Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”– 2 Corinthians 5:14-17
Running along the shores of Lake Erie; sheer joy of God’s creation; trees, squirrels, rustling leaves and the smell of the breeze off the lake. I passed a gentleman who was jogging along listening to his I-Phone. At the end of three miles, I turned around and headed back along my path; making a circle to enjoy the heavenly breeze just one more time.
“Hi, I am Bill and I just love your smile,” he said with what I first thought was an accent. “I am an artist”. I told him my name and he said that he had never spoken with anyone on this path but he had to greet me because of my joy! (I am a ray of sunshine these days???). I mentioned that I was a physician. Pulling out his phone, he showed me his head CT Scan; he had suffered a significant stroke. “I have a painting of this,” he gleefully shared in hesitant speech. ” I have a show next week in the art space.” “I never painted before I suffered the stroke.” he shared. “I lost the ability to talk but now I can paint.” “Isn’t God’s love wonderful?” I will be attending William’s opening!
Leave a Reply

