Taking Refuge in God

“But let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy. Spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may rejoice in you.”-Psalm 5:11(NIV)

The day, filled with blue sky, moderate temperatures and hints of the fall colors to come. I listened to the worries of my students and my colleagues; reflected with them. I reassure them to be patient; I listen carefully absorbing the energy (empath here). I encourage them to drop into my office at any point as it is daunting to be fledgling and experienced clinicians. I am far from being a sage but just a fellow human. My office was quite full for most of the day and I am exhausted; ready for a late evening run to meditate and give thanks to God.

I am just an ordinary person with flaws and darkness that I constantly examine. I never forget that I am still an infant in spiritual learning and have far to go. I can only offer my humanness and fellowship and take all as I find them. While I might not be able to solve a problem, I can listen; shared human understanding without judgment as God is with me in my troubles and failings. I seek to give all to God as he is always my protection.  God’s unfailing gift to us always.

Leave a Reply

