My Decision

The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.” – Psalm 28:7 (NIV)

Tomorrow, I will dismiss nine of my students for cheating. I have a zero tolerance for dishonesty of any type in medicine. Not only was dishonesty present, a couple of them bragged about the experience on social media. I demand honor from myself and my students at all times. There is little room in medicine otherwise but I was disappointed that my colleagues wanted reprimand rather dismissal. The rules were clear, the violations egregious, fairly investigated and true. It is not an easy decision to end one’s medical career before it gets started but looking down the line, future patients would have suffered. It falls to me to inform each of these students of the committee decision. I pray for strength.

Leave a Reply

