Life in the Empath Lane

“Their hearts are like an oven; they approach him with intrigue. Their passion smolders all night; in the morning it blazes like a flaming fire.”-Hosea 7:6 (NIV)

It has taken a bit of time for me to get my “passion” back in both life and work. I spent just a couple of minutes with a wonderful colleague who is a geriatrician (Family Medicine) who besides being a wonderful human being, affirmed many things that brought a touch of wonder to my heart as he agreed with my assessment of a challenging problem all the more challenging because I can absorb too much energy from my patients.

As an empath, rare in medicine and even rarer in surgery, I often found myself overwhelmed by some aspects of this profession especially when I sense a person who is consumed by stress. Empaths, as I have learned from my mentor in surgery residency, have to learn to not mirror the energies of their patients but focus on solving their problems. In truth, I have only found one other empath in medicine; under his guidance, I have followed his trail and found much peace and now much passion.

This joy, this energy flows from me to those that I touch and I am grateful to God for this ability. I can see and I can feel; pure happiness and connection with my patients and colleagues in joy and wonder. Yes, I move at a thousand miles per hour but this is way God made me and I accept this without question. I understand this, at last and I choose to live this!

Leave a Reply

