Dark before Light

“But the window disappeared. In a moment they tore off his jacket— it gave so easily, in one yank. Then a needle slid under his skin. The drug calmed his soul, but did not touch it down where the blackness had reached.”-Roth, Philip (1989-10-18). Goodbye, Columbus.

This darkness rolls over me; I have no choice but to wade through; eyes and ears open. There is no path to follow, to get past this thus I move through. I am afraid; sure of my faith but I am exhausted from the tears and hurting. There is no “drug” for me because I am compelled to feel these feelings; endure the darkness to get to the sunrise.

Leave a Reply

