At least I am here…

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”– 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (NIV)

Worked all night on call and now sitting on the roof of my 14-story medical center ; best place in the city to watch first light; in the cold morning air; clearing my head and collecting my thoughts after prayer and meditation.

Last night, I cried with my patients’ family because their loved one made a fatal decision. I gave our best medicine and surgery in an attempt to save a life but in the end, all I could do was hold his wife and mother and cry with them. I am thankful that I could be here for them.

Leave a Reply

