Fellowship and Relationships

” For the kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking, but of righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit.  Because anyone who serves Christ in this way is pleasing to God and approved by men. Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and mutual edification.”  Romans 14:17-19

I was invited to an informal “Meet and Greet” event at one of our very upscale business and professional clubs in the city. I have been forcing myself to keep moving and to get out and about whenever possible. These type of meetings are usually not for me because of work but I am slowly increasing my activity as I recover from my injuries.

I found myself chatting with a colleague in medicine, whom I have worked with from time to time but I didn’t know well. He asked me what I was reading (outside of my 30 journals per week). I shared Jonathan Kozol’s “Losing My Father One Day at at Time”, a non-fiction book that chronicles an eminent neurologist who develops Alzheimer’s Disease. I am sure that to my colleague, it was very strange for a surgeon to read such a book. I explained, “This book gives a physician’s view of Alzheimer’s Disease from the inside out”. “The relationship between the father and the son is a wonder to behold”. I caught a twinkle in his eye.

As I described how I have been changing my practice paradigm, he started to see my scene a bit more and I could see the pure joy in his eyes as he described his work in geriatrics. He said that he sees how wonderful it is to enjoy his patients and that I reminded him of the magic of relationships. I think I have stolen a bit of his soul in fellowship.

Leave a Reply

