Pap Pap- The Man, the Myth, the Legend

I ventured out to an academic meeting yesterday. One of my colleagues drove me as I am not allowed behind the wheel yet- I felt like “Miss Daisy” but it was nice to get out and about for a brief period. When we arrived, another colleague was joyfully sharing photos of his new granddaughter, born just a few weeks ago. “I am Pap Pap and she’s just like me,” he squealed in delight. I looked at the photo on his I-Phone; a little girl in the arms of her grandfather who is smiling so wide. I can’t stop smiling even hours later. Such pure joy and happiness on the face of a grandfather holding his first grandchild is a wonder to behold; such pure love freely given.Our relationships define us and the joy of that definition can warm the world around us. I am so grateful to share this.

Leave a Reply

