Challenges

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.”– Hebrews 11:1 (NIV)

In spite of my adventures in  self exploration, flying and sailing, I am not a reckless person. I believe that God sends challenges for us to continue in our spiritual growth thus I take every precaution with my flying and sailing both for my passengers, myself and my crew. At the end of this past week, one of my activities that generally is not hazardous resulted in an injury for me. My recovery has been something of a challenge for me.

I had hoped that this present week would be the beginning of getting my research and academics in order but I ended up in the hospital with a concussion, dislocated shoulder and burn. For me, a physician, being a patient was a tremendous challenge after the sedative wore off (needed to reset my shoulder). Right now, as I look like I have been in a boxing ring, I have faith that this challenge was needed for me to slow down my relentless pace and take notice of more things around me.

I walked into my laboratory just in time to see one of my graduate students starting an instrument that she had loaded improperly and had not locked down properly. By the time I reached the counter, the whole thing exploded, knocking me back against a door, thus the dislocated shoulder and other injuries as I fell. The next thing that I remembered was not being able to hear very well and my student, panicked at this point, calling the EMS crew; I was on the floor.

After being kept in the hospital overnight for observation, I spent most of the next day sleeping off my sedative under ice (my shoulder and my black eye). The rest of the time spent with waves of nausea and loads of time to find something to occupy my mind that didn’t involve sitting up. I discovered that I have little use for the telly (other than soccer and a bit of American football). I think I was likely the worst patient ever and I would hope that the wonderful staff will forgive me.

I am infinitely grateful for my practice partners (I heard that they hovered over me like mother hens), my mates who sent texts to me with “mend fast” wishes and my continuing medical education audio tapes. Sometimes the challenges sent from God are wonderful reminders of how precious and how delicate this life is for any of us, even an amazon like myself. Sometimes the challenges are there to teach me to be thankful for my colleagues and mates who are simply the best. Perhaps this challenge of recovery will help bring the joy back into my life and work that I so need. In any event, I am very grateful this morning even for seeing the sunrise and blue sky.

Leave a Reply

