Baptism by Fire

” You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all of your heart.” Jeremiah 29:13 (NIV)

I flew over to Hilo (on the Big Island) to find  volcanoes, something that I could not leave this incredible place without exploring. One of my mates, who is a native of the area, popped over with me to give his perspective of the spirit of this sacred place. The drive from Hilo south to Volcano National Park; driving through palm-lined road; flat then surprising changes as one moves into the higher elevations. As we drove Crater Rim Drive, I realized that I was looking at something spectacular and thoroughly unfamiliar to this mainland chick ; too chill to be haole, according my mate.

He said that I came from the sea on the air with much spirit within. What a compliment but I am malihini (a stranger) here in this land. He pronounced me uhane hele (a traveling spirit) as I found this a place of prayer and renewal with my friend sharing his language and soul.

Volcano (Pele-volcano goddess), a woman who greets me with the stuff of breath, sulfur, steam and fire as I bow in respect without question. I am here and I breathe three times after a prayer of gratitude in meeting you (a  custom of natives) Ke aloha o ke Akua (the grace of God), by which I stand here beholding his majestic work of constant change and renewal from deep within the earth. I am allowed to witness this; ho’omaika’i mahalo (gratitude) for life and fellowship along the Kilauea Iki Trail and then north east via the Ka’u Desert Trail to Jagger Museum with the embrace of the vent fire of the Halema’uma’u Crater of Kilauea. Magnificent as my gift is to behold greatness when I find it and soar in celebration of its inspiration.

Leave a Reply

